IN THE SUPREME COURT OF TEXAS

Misc. Docket No. 06-9067

ORDER AMENDING RULES IV AND VI AND ADDING RULE XI

STANDARDS AND RULES FOR CERTIFICATION OF SHORTHAND REPORTERS

IT IS ORDERED that the Standards and Rules for Certification of Certified Shorthand Reporters
are amended in the following manner:

Amend Rule IV to read as follows:
A. TheBoard mayrevoke or suspend any certification issued under this Act or issue a reprimand
to a certified shorthand reporter on a verified complaint after notice and opportunity of a hearing for:
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fraud or corruption;

dishonesty;

willful or negligent violation or failure of duty;
incompetence;

fraud or misrepresentation in obtaining certification;

a final conviction of a criminal offense, involving moral turpitude, that indicates a clear
and rational likelihood that the reporter will not properly discharge the responsibilities
of a certified shorthand reporter;

engaging in the practice of shorthand reporting for use in litigation in the courts of this
state by using a method for which the reporter is not authorized to practice or while
certification is suspended;

unprofessional conduct; or

violation of the Code of Professional Conduct for Court Reporters and Court Reporting
Firms: or

10. other sufficient cause as determined by the Board.



Amend Rule VI to read as follows:

A. Certification Fee. A fee of eighty-five ($85) dollars shall be charged for each application
submitted. Rejection or withdrawal of application will not entitle applicant to a refund of the fee or
any part thereof.

B. Examination Fee. A fee of fifty (§50) dollars for Part B, one hundred ($100) dollars for Part
A, or one hundred dollars ($100) for Parts A & B combined shall be due and payable not later than
midnight on the date established by the Board.

C. Renewal Fee. A fee of two hundred ten ($210) dollars shall be paid on or before the
expiration date of the certification. Unless this fee is timely paid or the certification reinstated as
provided in Rule LE., the certification previously issued shall expire at the date of the second
anniversary of the date of the issuance of the certification.

D. Penalty Fee. A fee of one hundred ($100) dollars shall be charged for reinstatement of an
expired certification pursuant to Rules L.E.2 or LE.3.

F- Regrading Fee. A fee of thirty-five ($35) dollars shall be paid by any applicant requesting a
regrade of an examination.

G-F. Payment of Fees. Payment of each fee shall be in the form of a money order, cashier's
check or bank-certified check made payable to the Board or the State of Texas. Personal checks not
certified or cash will not be accepted.

H-G. Refund Policy for Examination Fees. Applicants who cancel by written notification on
or before the deadline date established by the Board will receive a full examination fee refund. No
refunds will be granted after the deadline date.

Add Rule XI to read as follows:
XI1. Administrative Penalty

A. After receiving a complaint and affording notice and an opportunity for a hearing, the Board
may assess an administrative penalty against a certified shorthand reporter or court reporting firm
that violates chapter 52 of the Texas Government Code, or a Board rule approved by the Supreme
Court, or a provision of the Code of Professional Conduct for Court Reporters and Court Reporting
Firms.

B. Indetermining the amount of an administrative penalty assessed under this section, the Board
shall consider:

1. the seriousness of the violation, including but not limited to. the nature,
circumstances, extent and the gravity of the prohibited act(s);

2. the history of previous violations:

3. the amount necessary to deter future violations:
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4. efforts made to correct the violation; and

5. any other matters that justice may require.

C. The amount of the administrative penalty may not exceed that specified in a standardized
penalty schedule established by the Board, approved by the Supreme Court, and published in a
manner accessible to the public.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the above amendments are effective immediately.
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In Chambers, this | day of June, 2006.
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Wallace B. Jefferson, Chie[ Juét{ce
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David M. Medina, f’ustlce
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ClindB

Paul W. Green, Justice

Phil Johnson, Justice

Con B LT

Don R. Willett, Justice
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